College Football Preview: Army vs. Air Force

Army-Air Force game preview

On Saturday Army faces Air Force at West Point. AcademyWars.com previews this college football game and predicts the final score.

Team Schedules/Results

Army

Date Opp. Result
09/05/20 Middle Tenn. St. W 42-0
09/12/20 La.-Monroe W 37-7
09/26/20 @ Cincinnati L 10-24
10/03/20 Abilene Christian W 55-23
10/10/20 Citadel W 14-9
10/17/20 @ UTSA W 28-16
10/24/20 Mercer W 49-3
11/14/20 @ Tulane L 12-38
11/21/20 Ga. Southern W 28-27
12/12/20 Navy W 15-0
12/19/20 Air Force

Air Force

Date Opp. Result
10/03/20 Navy W 40-7
10/24/20 @ San Jose St. L 6-17
10/31/20 Boise St. L 30-49
11/20/20 New Mexico W 28-0
12/03/20 @ Utah St. W 35-7
12/19/20 @ Army

ESPN FPI

Army 77

Air Force 74

Key Stats

Stat (per game) Army Air Force
Points scored 29.0 27.8
Points allowed 14.7 16.0
Total YDS 328.4 415.0
Pass YDS 48.0 79.0
Rush YDS 280.4 336.0
Total YDS Allowed 272.1 306.0
Rush YDS Allowed 117.9 105.8
Pass YDS Allowed 154.2 200.2
3rd Down Conv. 44.9 48.3
3rd Down Conv. DEF 34.4 44.6
Turnover Margin 0.30 0.40

Players to Watch

Army

 
QB Tyhier Tyler, SB Artice Hobbs, WR Isaiah Alston, OL Peyton Reeder, DB Javhari Bourdeau, LB Jon Rhattigan.

Air Force

QB Haaziq Daniels, RB Timothy Jackson, WR Ben Peterson, LT Parker, Ferguson, DL Joey Woodring, LB Will Trawick, CB Elisha Palm.

Injuries

Army

[QB] 12/13/2020 – Jemel Jones is “?” Saturday vs Air Force (Leg)
[WR] 12/13/2020 – Isaiah Alston is “?” Saturday vs Air Force (Undisclosed)

Air Force

[RB] 12/07/2020 – Timothy Jackson is “?” Saturday vs Army (Undisclosed)
[QB] 09/27/2020 – Donald Hammond III left the team (Transferred)

Source: statfox.com

Comments

This is a big game for both teams. The coveted Commander-in-Chief’s Trophy is at stake. I call these two teams about even. Usually, I go with the home team when the teams are even but this game is different. Army is coming off a very emotional, jubilant win over Navy. Will Army be ready mentally to take on Air Force? Of course, every player will say, “ready to go, Sir!” I think it’s going to be tough though and really, there isn’t much of a home-field advantage anyway with hardly any fans or cadets present. I think Air Force wins this one in a close one. Consider too that Air Force’s schedule was much tougher than Army’s. The Massey composite has Air Force’s schedule ranked 50 places above Army. I think it’ll be another pretty low scoring game. Again, like against Navy, these teams both know how to stop the option. It’s possible Army could slip by but I think more likely Air Force prevails.

Prediction

Air Force 17, Army 10

Saturday’s game kicks off at 3:00 PM ET. You can watch this football game on the CBS Sports Network.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*